HB-Oh, fuck off

Happy Effing International Women’s Day.

Gazzetta della Rum Fucker

Here’s what happened on my International Women’s Day:

I started the day listening to Alanis Morisette’s Jagged Little Pill, which I haven’t heard since Coogan used it as a comedy device on The Trip, and before that it’d been years.

It’s alright, you know, that album. She can hold a tune and despite her much-spoofed understanding of the concept of irony, it’s great to hear a record in which someone’s willing to be vulnerable and honest. But it’s that honesty that most depresses me.

Aside from the pop-rock anthemic quality of the album, and the lovely (though screechy) vocal arrangements, I think a large part of the reason the album was successful was this sense that it was relatable. And I just don’t fucking relate.

What’s more, I’m sad that other people – especially women – would find the feelings espoused on the record as universal.

I don’t…

View original post 1,284 more words

Leave a Reply

